Week 35 – 244/365


This will be an extra special, extra long, blog post. So this is my second Gemini and Scorpio event since I discovered their site a few months ago. I previously attended The Lost Circus with Of Many Masks and TheDSK. This time we got the whole crew (sans Belfuria) for this event.

This was a Pirate Adventure on the High Seas! This was a ton of fun ! Especially arriving early in full pirate regalia at Pier 17 with normal people staring at us. We made some kids day and took a picture with a woman for her birthday.

244/365

I love when we first headed out and we saw some kids in an elevator who wanted to dress up as well. Tall (with the knife in his teeth) was asked several times “Why aren’t you Peter Pan?”. I think this picture shows why he shouldn’t be Peter Pan…as well as anyone a small child should look up to 🙂

244/365 Outtake

Masks and DSK should be familiar to old viewers, but if you are new, Masks is a friend I’ve had for years. He is a sculptor and model, as well as someone who gets me interested in NYC events. He actually got me into Steampunk and inspired me to return to conventions for photography.

244/365 Outtake

The Scottsman supplied everyone in our group (including me) with some pirate gear in one form or another. I borrowed a tricorn hat, all of the weaponry was his, plus some other pieces of clothing. Scottsman was a reenactor in a past life and decided to share. Man I need to take him on more events!

244/365 Outtake

I should mention now before continuing, that this event happened on 9-11. I have dozens and dozens of shots of the WTC memorial and the cityscape. I noticed several people raised a glass or watch the skyline silently for a bit.

244/365 Outtake

244/365 Outtake

I completely overestimated the amount of light available for photos, so I didn’t approach many people for pictures. That night showed me that I definitely need something other than that camera’s built in flash. I did get some decent paired/group photos.

244/365 Outtake

244/365 Outtake

244/365 Outtake

244/365 Outtake

244/365 Outtake

Veterans of this cozy little blog of mine may remember Mr. S. Proper, who is now a very frequent guest in the blog. I think after we first met at The Lost Circus we met at The Time Traveler’s Picnic, then the Steampunk Picnic and again here on the ship. He and I will cross paths again several times in October before I stop my traveling due to cold weather.

244/365 Outtake

As we were ending the night and people were winding down, getting ready to get off our little ship, there were a few more…rambunctious….guests who decided that right when we were to dock was a great time to climb the rigging. One of the crewmen grabbed the one person, and a second climbed the other side almost all the way to the crow’s nest. The same crewman brought him down as well, and ended up having to exectute a pretty sweet move that pinned the partier to the ground.

Before leaving the boat, I managed to finally get a good shot of Lady Scorpio (Gemini?) in her pirate garb. She danced the night away, but flash in face when dancing in heels on a rocking boat = bad, so I waited for the pictures.

244/365 Outtake

244/365 Outtake

Off of the boat, the energy was still pretty high, and the guys decided that it was a perfect time for a sword fight for a damsel’s honor! First were pictures, then IrikVelt stepped in, which led to the following video.

244/365 Outtake

244/365 Outtake

One thought on “Week 35 – 244/365

  1. Awesome! The photos of Manhattan are so eerie~ And everyone looks fabulous!

    And just a note, our hostess pictured above is Scorpio, not Gemini (I don’t know if I’ve ever seen the G half of G&S…)

Leave a Reply

