Assignment: Toys


It has been a while since I have looked at the DPS Assignment board.  Even DPS in general. For those of you just joining, I am talking about the Digital Photography School (I shorten it to DPS, as do it’s users/readers).  I’m sure if it weren’t for that site, I would have never desired a DSLR camera.

The site has daily/weekly articles as well as a forum where beginners and pros and everything in-between can ask, give and  receive help with photography, play games, buy and sell equipment and just plain show off their shots.

Now back to the subject at hand: The assignment board.  I’ve been busy, sick, and too plain tired some days to take care of my 365 blog, as some of you see, so I have not even looked at the assignments.  As the weather and my health got better, I took a peek and saw that the new assignment was Toys!  toys, of all things!

From the DPS Assignment board:

“Toys” After a difficult assignment like “Film Noir”, we need a little time to remember our childhood and play a bit. Do you have a loved toy from your past or do your children have a favorite? Tap into your inner child this week!

1. Your original image you submit should be taken between the 6th of May and the 13th of May. Each week as an assignment closes on the Wednesday, it will be AUTOMATICALLY deemed *CLOSED* after 8am GMT ( 3am EST) and any posts after that time will not be eligible for the assignment competition. Don’t wait until the last minute to post!

2. Your post must include [B]”Toys”[/B] (to show your permission to count it for the contest) and the date the picture was taken (to show that it is a valid entry).

3. EXIF data should be intact. It helps if you can include the main points (including camera, lens, date taken, ISO, shutter speed and aperture) in the text of your message.

4. Only one entry per member (if you can’t restrain yourself until the end of the first week you can post two or three separate pictures but your entry should be in a separate post and the only marked with the text above). It must be an original image taken by you.

What’s this? Toys? Sounds like my forte 😉

037/365 OuttakeBoy's Room

013/365039/365

As much as I enjoy this assignment, I wish it came at a later date. I was hoping to rent a macro lens from Borrow Lenses (website, twitter) for such an assignment.  Ah well, there’s always next time.  Until then, I have finals to do and clients to finish up with ♥

3 thoughts on “Assignment: Toys

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Assignment: Toys « My 365 Photog Blog -- Topsy.com

  2. When I saw this assignment I immediately thought of you. I was thinking about what I could shoot, but then I thought Babette does much better than I ever could so why bother. Good luck! I hope your image gets chosen.

    • Never think that! Go out there, have fun shooting! I’m starting my finals so I’m pretty much counting on not shooting much this week. Even if I was 100% available to shoot, I’d never say you shouldn’t shoot to compete with anyone. Just have fun ♥

Leave a Reply

